"We are not robots" Azam Khan, Saim Ayub upbeat ahead of Ireland, England T20Is

Azam emphasized the desire to contribute to the national team and build his reputation through stellar performances

PHOTO: Twitter

Pakistan young batters, Saim Ayub and Azam Khan, are confident of giving better performances for the national team in the upcoming T20Is against Ireland and England.

While speaking to media on Sunday in Lahore, Azam emphasized the desire to contribute to the national team and build his reputation through stellar performances.

"We are not robots that you press a button and we start performing. We all want to perform for the Pakistan team because that’s how you build your name. If given an opportunity, I will try to give my best," Azam said.

Saim echoed similar sentiments, acknowledging the need for improvement while staying true to his style and expressing confidence in his future contributions.

"I have not yet played a big innings at international level but I am trying to do better. It is a process. The management is back every player. I will not change my style and I am confident I will perform in future," Saim said.

After the recent New Zealand T20I series, Pakistan cricket team captain Babar Azam shared his thoughts on the futures of young players Saim Ayub and Azam Khan. The captain praised the potential and talent of both players and expressed confidence in their abilities.

"Saim is extremely talented. The way he changes the game in the first six overs is commendable. He's struggling but I feel he just needs one innings to get going. Sometimes you need to give some extra time to special talents like him. Hopefully, he will do well in the future," Babar said.

Azam Khan was ruled out of the New Zealand T20I series after tearing a calf muscle.

"We missed Azam a little because he is a different type of player. He is a game changer. You know that when he is standing, he can completely change the game," he concluded.

Pakistan squad for Ireland, England T20Is

Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan