Bangladesh announces squad for Rawalpindi Test against Pakistan

The visitors will be led by Mominul Haque

Bangladesh announces squad for Rawalpindi Test against Pakistan PHOTO: AFP

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) have announced a 14-member squad, led by left-hand batsman Mominul Haque, for the first Test of the two-match series against Pakistan, scheduled to take place in Rawalpindi from February 7 to 11.

While talking to media, Bangladesh chief selector Minhajul Abedin said that the team is depending on Mominul to take responsibility, after senior batsman Musfiqur Rahim opted out of Pakistan tour citing security concerns. 

“Like the last two Tests, Mominul will continue to lead the side in the next three Tests. We are depending on him,” said Minhajul. “Conditions there [Rawalpindi] are tough. And Pakistan have quite a few good pacers. We will be up against a difficult challenge.”

Mushfiqur’s absence is a major blow for Bangladesh, who are already without suspended all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan. However, senior opener Tamim Iqbal makes a return to the Test squad after almost a year, whereas left-arm pacer Mustafizur Rahman has been dropped.

Bangladesh were also forced to leave out all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain (shoulder), spinner Mehidy Hasan (finger), openers Shadman Islam (wrist) and Imrul Kayes (hamstring) due to injuries.

ALSO READKaneria’s presence in foreign tournament creates controversy

The Bangladesh team is expected to leave Dhaka for Islamabad on February 4.

The second Test of the series will be played in Karachi from April 5 to 9.

Bangladesh squad:

Mominul Haque (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mahmudullah, Md Mithun, Liton Das, Taijul Islam, Naeem Hasan, Ebadat Hossain, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Soumya Sarkar