Ehsan Mani elected new PCB chairman

73-year-old replaced Najam Sethi who resigned after the formation PTI-led government

Ehsan Mani elected new PCB chairman PHOTO COURTESY: PCB

Ehsan Mani has been elected unopposed as the new chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in the board’s election which was held at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Tuesday.

Mani, who is known for his successful term as the International Cricket Council (ICC) chairman, has replaced Najam Sethi, who resigned after Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-led government was formed after the 2018 General Elections.

Sethi’s relationship with newly-elected Prime Minister Imran Khan worsened after the latter accused the former for helping the Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) in 2013 General Elections when he was the caretaker Chief Minister of Punjab.

Mani, who was PM Imran’s nomination for the post, faced no opposition in the elections and will serve at the helm for a three-year period.

The process was completed under the supervision of PCB’s Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Afzal Haider and Deputy Election Commissioner Ahmed Shehzad Farooq.

All 11 members of the Board of Governers (BoG) took part in the process, whereas Secretary Ministry of Inter-provincial Coordination (IPC) Captain (retd) Jahanzaib Khan was present during the election process as the observer.