Batting against Pakistan pacers best prep for facing any bowler: Shafique

Abdullah Shafique was asked if Pakistan batters will be prepared to face the likes of Jasprit Bumrah in upcoming Asia Cup

Batting against Pakistan pacers best prep for facing any bowler: Shafique PHOTO: AFP

Top-order batter, Abdullah Shafique, expressed his excitement about the rivalry between Pakistan and India as both arch-rivals will face each other in the upcoming Asia Cup 2023. 

During media interaction, Shafique emphasized that while the rivalry stirs up excitement among the spectators, but for the cricketers, it's simply a game. He shared his team's determination to perform well and secure victory whenever the opportunity arises.

"Yes we are excited, as the rivalry is going on between both countries. But for the cricketers, this is just a game, it's a different concept for the spectators, but for us, it's just a game, and we will try that whenever such an opportunity arises, we play well as a team and will try to win the match as well," he said.

The 23-year-old also lauded Pakistan's formidable pace attack, labeling it the best in the world. He highlighted the invaluable experience gained from practicing against this potent bowling line-up in the nets. 

"Our pace attack is quite strong, the best in the world, so obviously when we practice against them in the nets and face their challenging spells, it boosts our confidence significantly. Our preparation is also very good, and our focus is exactly like this, that these are the best bowlers, and if we play well against them, then obviously when we face other bowlers, we play against them with more confidence," he concluded.

An 18-player squad will take on Afghanistan in Sri Lanka from 22 till 26 August and it will be trimmed to 17 players for the Asia Cup, which begins from the Multan Cricket Stadium on 30 August when Pakistan play against Nepal.

Pakistan squad for Afghanistan series & Asia Cup 2023:
Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir, and Saud Shakeel (only for Afghanistan series), Mohammad Rizwan and Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Mohammad Nawaz and Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah and Shaheen Afridi