ICC World Cup 2019: Pakistan to face India on June 16 in Manchester

Arch-rivals to face off in mega event taking place in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14

ICC World Cup 2019: Pakistan to face India on June 16 in Manchester

The marquee clash of the 2019 World Cup between Pakistan and India will take place on June 16 in Manchester, sources have confirmed.

The match between the arch-rivals is considered to be the best during any tournament and the International Cricket Council (ICC) mostly pits them together in any tournament.

Case in point is the 2017 Champions Trophy where both teams played their first group match against each other, which Pakistan lost to India.

However, Pakistan came back strong after the opening loss to avenge their defeat at the grandest stage of them all — the final — where they came out victors courtesy Fakhar Zaman's century and Pakistani bowlers unprecedented show with the ball.

The match holds importance for other reasons as the two nations aren't playing any bilateral cricket outside the ICC tournaments due to political tensions.

the most anticipated match of the tournament will take place on the same date when Sarfraz Ahmed’s Pakistan won the ICC Champions Trophy by beating Virat Kohli-led India in the final in 2017.

The tournament will begin on May 30 with the match between hosts England and South Africa at The Oval.

It will be the first time since 1992 when the tournament will not feature any groups, instead all 10 teams will play against each other and the top four teams will make it to the semi-finals.

The tournament will be organised over a 45-day period and the matches will be played at 11 venues across England and Wales, with the final at Lord's on July 14.

The ICC has also set a reserve day for the both semi-finals and the final to make sure that the games will not be effected due to rain.

The first semi-final will take place on July 9 at Old Trafford, whereas the second semi-final will take place on July 11 at Edgbaston.

Eight teams —hosts England, Australia, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka — secured direct qualification to the mega event.

Jason Holder-led West Indies and new comers Afghanistan completed the 10-team lineup by securing top sports in the World Cup Qualifiers, which was organised in March earlier this year.