Last eight matches of PSL 2019 to take place in Pakistan

Fourth edition of PSL will begin on February 14 next year

Last eight matches of PSL 2019 to take place in Pakistan PHOTO COURTESY: PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced that the fourth edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) will begin on February 14, 2019 in UAE with the final eight matches of the tournament to take place in Pakistan.

The final will take place at the National Stadium in Karachi on March 17.

The Pakistan Super League Governing Council comprising representatives of PCB and all PSL franchises met on Saturday at the National Cricket Academy where PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani presided over the meeting.

A number of key matters were discussed during the meeting which included PCB’s aim of ensuring transparency and working in partnership with all franchises in order to make PSL a bigger success. 

It was also decided unanimously that franchise representatives would be a part of bid committees for various upcoming PSL rights. The Chairman welcomed the inclusion of franchises in the decision-making process and highlighted the need to ensure collective growth of all partners.

“PCB and all PSL franchises are partners in this project and I am confident that we will all work together to bring in good numbers for our next rights cycle,” said Mani.

The pick order for the upcoming PSL Player Draft was discussed at the meeting. It was decided that this year’s draft would be based on last year’s rankings with teams being allowed a maximum of 10 retentions. All franchises agreed to introduce a randomized draft order from the fifth edition of the league.

The Governing Council members congratulated Mani on taking charge as chairman PCB and assured him of their full support.