Malan, Ronchi lead Diamond Category for PSL5

59 foreign international cricketers have registered to date in Diamond Category for season five of the tournament

Malan, Ronchi lead Diamond Category for PSL5 PHOTO: Pakistan Super League

England’s Dawid Malan leads a strong field of 59 foreign international cricketers who have registered to date in Diamond Category for HBL Pakistan Super League 2020. The registration window for the foreign players is still open and closes on 21 November following which an updated list will be released.

World’s third-ranked T20I batsman was in a punishing form in the just-concluded five-match series against New Zealand, totaling 458 runs in five matches.

This included a 48-ball century, an England record, in the fourth match in Napier. Malan belted nine fours and six sixes in a 51-ball 103 not out to power England to 241 for three, their highest score to date, that laid the foundation of a comfortable 76-run victory.

Malan is the second England batsman to have scored a century in the shortest format of the game. Alex Hales achieved the milestone against Sri Lanka in Chittagong in 2014 and he has registered in Platinum Category for the tournament that has already caught the imagination of cricket followers and fans across the globe in its short history.

Malan has represented Peshawar Zalmi in three HBL PSLs since the inception of this glamourous and glittering tournament, helping the side from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to lift the silverware in 2017.

England’s Ravi Bopara and Luke Ronchi, who won the player of the HBL PSL awards in 2016 and 2018, respectively, have also registered in the Diamond Category.

ALSO READ: Pakistan to play Sri Lanka Tests in front of home crowds

Apart from Malan and Bopara, other big England attractions in the preliminary list also include Somerset’s Tom Banton, Yorkshire’s Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Joe Denly, Tymal Mills, Craig Overton, Phil Salt, James Vince and Luke Wright.

Daren Sammy, the darling of HBL PSL, is amongst 12 West Indies players who have registered in the Diamond Category that also includes Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul and Marlon Samuels.

In the preliminary list, 11 South Africa cricketers have registered with Rassie van der Dussen being the most popular name after his 241 runs in the ODI series against Pakistan earlier this year. Kyle Abbott, who was the fourth leading wicket-taker with 20 scalps for Hampshire in the Vitality Blast 2019, also features in the list.

Other prominent names in the preliminary list include Bangladesh’s Mahmudullah and Mustafizur Rahman Roelof van der Merwe of Netherlands and Sri Lanka’s Niroshan Dickwella and Isuru Udana.

Dasun Shanaka, who led Sri Lanka to 3-0 win over Pakistan last month, is also in the preliminary Diamond Category.

Australia’s Fawad Ahmed, Chris Green and Ben Laughlin, and Najeebullah Zadran and Qais Ahmad of Afghanistan are the other players to register in the Diamond Category.

The PCB will announce additions to the list by or before 21 November, it will continue to share to date Gold, Silver and Emerging lists this week.

ALSO READ: Azam, Steyn duel on the cards in PSL5

List of international players who have registered in Diamond category to date:

Afghanistan (2) - Najeebullah Zadran and Qais Ahmad

Australia (3) – Fawad Ahmed, Chris Green and Ben Laughlin

Bangladesh (4) -  Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman and Tamim Iqbal

England (19) - Tom Banton, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Pat Brown, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Mason Crane, Liam Dawson, Joe Denly, Laurie Evans, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Craig Overton, Matt Parkinson, Phil Salt, James Vince and Luke Wright

Netherlands (1) - Roelof van der Merwe

New Zealand (1) – Luke Ronchi

South Africa (11) - Kyle Abbott, Cameron Delport, Marchant de Lange, Rassie van der Dussen, Robbie Frylinck, Simon Harmer, Heino Kuhn, Duanne Olivier, Dane Vilas, Hardus Viljoen and David Wiese

Sri Lanka (5) - Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka and Isuru Udana

West Indies (12) - Fabian Allen, Johnson Charles, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Daren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas and Kesrick Williams


About HBL PSL 2020 player registration/retention/combination/draft

•           Preliminary list being shared with names expected to be added over the next week

•           Players can be retained, traded or released into the Draft pool in their registered categories

 There are five categories – Platinum, Diamond, Gold, Silver and Emerging

•           Each side must have a minimum squad of 16 players and can have a maximum squad of 18 players as per the following combination – three platinum, three diamond, three gold, five silver, two emerging and two supplementary (optional)

•           Each side will have to pick three foreign players in their first nine picks

•           The 16-player squad must include five foreign and 11 local players; while the 18-player squad can include six foreign and 12 local players or five foreign and 13 local players

•           The playing XI must include a minimum of three foreign players and can include a maximum of four foreign players

•           The retention window closes on 1 December and each side can retain up to eight players who were part of HBL PSL 2019.  Each team can appoint one player ambassador and one player mentor who can drop one category at the time of retention.

•           HBL PSL Player Draft 2019 will take place in the first week of December (date, time and location to be confirmed in due course)

•           Revised salary caps are:

o          Platinum – PKR23m-PKR34m (approx. US$147K-US$218K)

o          Diamond – PKR11.5m-PKR16m (approx. US$73K-US$103K

o          Gold – PKR6.9m-PKR8.9m (approx. US$44K-US$58K)

o          Silver – PKR2.4m-PKR5.4m (approx. US$15K-US$35K)

o          Emerging – PKR1m-PKR1.5m (approx. US$6.5K-US$9.5K)

•           Budget cap for the optional supplementary round has been fixed at PKR 19 million (approx. US$120K) and the teams will be allowed to pick up to two players in this round