Mark Chapman eyes competitive series against Pakistan

During New Zealand's visit to Pakistan in 2023, Chapman scored his first T20I century, resulting in a tie in the series at 2-2

Mark Chapman eyes competitive series against Pakistan PHOTO: PCB

New Zealand batter, Mark Chapman, expressed optimism about the outcome of the T20I series against Pakistan despite the absence of key players.

Speaking to reporters in Rawalpindi, he emphasized his confidence in the abilities of the younger players in the New Zealand squad.

“We know that we are missing a few players. The team we have got here comprising an exciting bunch of players. There are some very talented players in the team the ones who have shown great skills and performance in domestic cricket. Boys are excited to give their best in the series,” Chapman said.

He views Pakistan as a formidable opponent but saw the series as an excellent opportunity for the emerging talents in the Kiwi team to showcase their abilities against a top-tier side.

“The team is a strong unit. Pakistan is playing their best team against us so it would be a great opportunity for our young players to show their talent against the best of Pakistan players,” he said.

“The team members are excited to perform and impress the selectors. There is some quality talent in the New Zealand team. Hopefully, the series will be a competitive one,” he added.

Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I series:

18 April: 1st T20I, Rawalpindi (7pm Pakistan Standard Time)

20 April: 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi (7pm PST)

21 April: 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi (7pm PST)

25 April: 4th T20I, Lahore (7pm PST)

27 April: 5th T20I, Lahore (7pm PST)

Pakistan squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saim Ayub, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan (wk), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, Abbas Afridi, Abrar Ahmed, Fakhar Zaman, Irfan Khan Niazi, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan

Reserves: Haseebullah, Mohammad Ali, Agha Salman, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Wasim Jr

New Zealand squad:

Michael Bracewell (c), Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Zak Foulkes, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert (WK), Ish Sodhi