Mohammad Amir secures visa for Ireland tour

The board's logistics department is now busy arranging Amir's flight booking to Dublin

Mohammad Amir secures visa for Ireland tour PHOTO: AFP

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has successfully secured a visa for fast bowler Mohammad Amir for his participation in the upcoming three-match T20I series against Ireland. 

Sources close to the PCB revealed that the board's logistics department is now busy arranging Amir's flight booking to Dublin, ensuring his timely departure to join the team.

Mohammad Amir will join the team in Dublin on Friday, but it's unlikely that he will be considered for selection in the first T20 international.

Amir will be available for the second and third T20 internationals to be played on Sunday and Tuesday.

Furthermore, Amir's inclusion in the tour was initially uncertain due to visa issues. Despite submitting his visa application along with the team, the Ireland Embassy had initially rejected his visa, causing concerns within the PCB. 

The board officials promptly raised objections with the Cricket Board of Ireland concerning the rejection. 

PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi personally intervened, showing a strong interest in addressing the issue.

Amir's visa application was resubmitted and has been approved, allowing him to join the Pakistan cricket team for the Ireland series.

This development comes as a relief for both Amir and the PCB, highlighting the board's commitment to ensuring smooth logistics for their players ahead of important tours and tournaments.

The first match of the three-match series will start tomorrow, followed by the second and third matches on the 12th and 14th of May, respectively, all at the same venue.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (C), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan

Ireland squad: Paul Stirling (C), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young

Schedule of Ireland vs Pakistan:

May 10: First T20I at Clontarf
May 12: Second T20I at Clontarf
May 14: Third T20I at Clontarf