New Zealand vs Afghanistan in T20 World Cup 2024, Preview, Time, Venue, Squads

The match will be played at Providence Stadium, Guyana

New Zealand vs Afghanistan in T20 World Cup 2024, Preview, Time, Venue, Squads PHOTO: AFP

New Zealand will face Afghanistan in the 14th match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on June 8 at 4:30 AM PST at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. This clash promises to be a thrilling encounter, pitting the Kiwis against the ever-improving Afghan side.

New Zealand is gearing up for their opening match in this year's T20 World Cup. The team enters the tournament with confidence, having retained their core group of players who have ample experience and form. Many of the Kiwi players have recently showcased their skills in the IPL 2024, adding a fresh dose of competitive edge to their preparations.

Their last international T20 series against Pakistan ended in a 2-2 draw, while their previous series against Australia was a tougher outing, resulting in a 3-0 loss. Despite these setbacks, New Zealand's side, led by the seasoned Kane Williamson, is expected to bounce back. Williamson, leading his team in his third T20 World Cup since 2016, will be aiming to guide the Kiwis to a strong campaign start. The team has consistently performed well in recent World Cups, making it to the semi-finals in the last two editions.

On the other hand, Afghanistan, led by their captain Rashid Khan, is coming into this match with a solid victory in their opening game against Uganda. They posted an impressive 183 runs and bowled out the opposition for a meager 58 runs, showcasing their prowess in both batting and bowling.

Rashid Khan, their star all-rounder, is expected to play a pivotal role in this tournament. The Afghan team, while yet to secure a win against New Zealand in T20 internationals, has the potential to upset any top team in the tournament. Their confidence will be high, and they will be eager to prove their mettle against a formidable opponent.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee. Travelling Reserve: Ben Sears

Afghanistan: Rashid Khan (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Ishaq, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Nangyal Kharoti, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik. Reserves: Sediq Atal, Hazratullah Zazai, Saleem Safi