Pakistan announces women squad for Bangladesh T20Is

Bangladesh will play three T20I matches and two ODIs in their tour of Lahore

Pakistan announces women squad for Bangladesh T20Is PHOTO COURTESY: Cricket South Africa

The women selection committee led by Urooj Mumtaz today announced the Pakistan team that will compete in the three-match Twenty20 International (T20I) series against Bangladesh in Lahore from Saturday.

Bangladesh will play three T20I matches and two One-day Internationals (ODIs) in their tour of Lahore, the series starting with the opening T20I at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium on October 26.

The team was finalised keeping in view the performance of the players in the training camp that concluded in Muridke on Tuesday, while the core of the squad that has represented Pakistan recently was also retained.

Former Pakistan players Asmavia Iqbal and Marina Iqbal are the other two members of the selection panel along with Urooj.

ALSO READ: MPAs demand quota for Sindh cricketers

Chief Selector Urooj Mumtaz is looking to give exposure to younger players in the squad in the home series.

 "We are delighted to host the Bangladesh team and look forward to an exciting series,” said Mumtaz. “It is the first international assignment for the team since the tour to South Africa in June. The team is a good blend of experience and young exciting players.”

Pakistan T20I team for series against Bangladesh:

Bismah Maroof (captain), Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Iram Javed, Javeria Khan, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Khan, Omaima Sohail, Saba Nazir, Sadia Iqbal, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz.