Pakistan finalise squad for Sri Lanka T20Is

The Men in Green will take on the Islanders in a three-match series, starting October 5

Pakistan finalise squad for Sri Lanka T20Is PHOTO: AFP

Pakistan’s head coach-cum-chief selector Misbahul Haq has finalised the Men in Green squad for the upcoming Twenty20 International (T20I) series against the touring Sri Lankan side.

Middle-order batsman Umar Akmal and opener Ahmed Shehzad, who were part of the list of probables for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka, have been included in the Pakistan contingent.

Fast-bowler Hasan Ali, who was left out of the squad for ODI series against Sri Lanka due to a back spasm, has not fully recovered and will have to spend more time on the sidelines.

ALSO READ: Two Pakistan players included in maiden The Hundred draft

Rookie pacer Mohammad Hasnain and all-rounder Faheem Ashraf have also been successful in retaining their place in the squad.

Hasnain made his T20I debut against England in Cardiff, earlier in May this year, where he went wicketless in his full quota of four overs.

On the other hand, Ashraf, who played in the T20 Blast for the Northamptonshire Steelbacks this year and took 11 wickets at an average of 19, has been given another opportunity due to his impressive performance.

All-rounders Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik will not be part of the squad as they have been granted No-objection Certificate (NOC) until October 12 to participate in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

From the ODI side presently in Karachi, there are three changes. Shehzad, Akmal and Ashraf have replaced Abid Ali, Mohammad Rizwan and Imamul Haq.

Ahmed last featured in a T20I in June 2018 against Scotland, while Umar’s last appearance in the same format was in September 2016 against the West Indies.

Imam has been left out of the T20I side due to an injury in his left-hand, which he sustained while fielding in the second ODI against Sri Lanka on Monday.

ALSO READ: Babar ecstatic after maiden century on home soil

Pakistan and Sri Lanka will lock horns in a three-match T20I series in Lahore. The matches are scheduled to take place on October 5, 7 and 9, respectively.

T20I Squad

Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain, Babar Azam (vice-captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Umar Akmal, Usman Shinwari and Wahab Riaz.