Pakistan team begins quarantine in New Zealand under military supervision

The squad will be divided in four groups after three days of isolation

Pakistan team begins quarantine in New Zealand under military supervision PHOTO COURTESY: PCB

The Pakistan squad have entered their mandatory 14-day quarantine period in Christchurch, New Zealand ahead of the Twenty20 International (T20I) and Test series against home side.

According to details, the Men in Green contingent is currently observing quarantine under strict military supervision inorder to ensure that the rules and regulations are observed properly.

Pakistan team had arrived in Auckland, from where they travelled in Christchurch, from Lahore via Dubai.

The team was joined by a medical officer from New Zealand, in Dubai, to ensure that the players were following Covid-19 Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) — such as wearing mask.

Before departing for Christchurch, from Auckland, a local health official also briefed the players about maintaining social distancing and other important details about their stay in New Zealand.  

The players will remain isolated for the first three days and will be removed from the squad incase they return a positive Covid-19 test result. For the remainder of the quarantine period, members will be divided in different groups, during which they will live in their own separate areas, and will not be allowed to interact with individuals of other groups. 

ALSO READ: Mohammad Amir issues warning over Shaheen Afridi’s workload management

During the first three days, players can do exercise, individually, at the balcony in their hotel. They will stay in touch with the team management through WhatsApp and Zoom video sessions. 

After the three-days of isolation, players will be allowed to train, in groups, at the New Zealand Cricket High Performance Centre at Lincoln University. The four groups have been named PK 1, PK 2, PK 3 and PK 4.

PK 1:

Players: Abid Ali, Shan Masood, Fawad Alam, Yasir Shah, Haris Sohail, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Azhar Ali and Imamul Haq.

Management: Younis Khan, Mohtashim Rasheed, Yasir Malik, Hafiz Naeem and Ibrahim Badees.

PK 2:

Players: Abdullah Shafique, Zeeshan Malik, Imran Butt, Sohail Khan, Amad Butt, Danish Aziz, Rohail Nazir and Zafar Gohar.

Management: Ijaz Ahmed, Rao Iftikhar, Saboor Ahmed, Imran Ali and Usman Hashmi.

PK 3:

Players: Iftikhar Ahmed, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hasnain, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Faheem Ashraf and Haider Ali.

Management: Waqar Younis, Abdul Majeed, Cliffe Deacon, Mansoor Rana and Col (retd) Usman Anwari.

PK 4

Players: Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Khushdil Shah, Mohammar Rizwan, Hussain Talat, Wahab Riaz, Haris Rauf, Musa Khan.

Management: Misbahul Haq, Shahid Aslam, Talha Ijaz, Dr Sohail Saleem and Malang Ali. 

Pakistan men’s national team will play three T20Is on December 18, 20 and 22, and the ICC World Test Championship fixtures will be held in Mount Maunganui and Christchurch on December 26-30 and January 3-7, respectively.