Pakistan to host ICC Champions Trophy in 2025, Ramiz Raja elated

Pakistan will defend the title they won in 2017

Pakistan to host ICC Champions Trophy in 2025, Ramiz Raja elated PHOTO: AFP

Pakistan will host the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025, which means that they will defend their title, won in 2017, in their own backyard.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today confirmed the 14 host countries of the ICC men’s white ball events from 2024-2031. 11 Full Members and three Associate Members have been selected to host two ICC Men’s Cricket World Cups, four ICC Men’s T20 World Cups and two ICC Men’s Champions Trophy events.

The USA and Namibia will host an ICC World Cup event for the first time. Whilst Australia, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe have previously staged major events and will do so again over the next decade.


Are you ready for the best-ever decade of men’s white-ball cricket?

Eight new tournaments announced 🔥
14 different host nations confirmed 🌏
Champions Trophy officially returns 🙌

— ICC (@ICC) November 16, 2021


The hosts were selected via a competitive bidding process overseen by a Board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden along with Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt. The ICC Board accepted the recommendations of the committee who conducted a thorough review of each bid along with ICC management. A similar process to identify the hosts for ICC Women’s and U19s events for the next cycle will be undertaken early next year.

Reacting to the development, PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja said that “it’s a matter of great pride and delight that Pakistan will be hosting ICC Champions Trophy 2025”.


It’s a matter of great pride and delight that Pakistan will be hosting ICC Champions Trophy 2025. This great news will surely excite millions of Pakistani fans, expats and world fans to see great teams and players in action and will allow the world to sample our hospitality.

— Ramiz Raja (@iramizraja) November 16, 2021


ICC Chair Greg Barclay said: “We are delighted to have concluded this competitive bidding process for the first time for ICC events. To have 14 Members hosting 8 events is a reflection of the truly global nature of our sport and I’d like to thank every Member that submitted a bid and offer our congratulations to the successful bidders.

“It is fantastic to be returning to so many previous hosts, but what is really exciting about this process is the countries who will stage ICC events for the first time including the USA which is a strategic growth market for us. This gives us the opportunity to deepen our connection with fans in traditional cricket nations and also reach new fans around the world.”

2024 T20 World Cup: USA and West Indies
2025 Champions Trophy: Pakistan
2026 T20 World Cup: India and Sri Lanka
2027 ODI World Cup: Namibia, Zimbabwe and South Africa
2028 T20 World Cup: Australia and New Zealand
2029 Champions Trophy: India
2030 T20 World Cup: England, Ireland and Scotland
2031 ODI World Cup: India and Bangladesh