Pakistan vs USA in T20 World Cup 2024, Preview, Time, Venue, Squads

The match will played at Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas

Pakistan vs USA in T20 World Cup 2024, Preview, Time, Venue, Squads PHOTO: AFP

Pakistan is set to kick off their T20 World Cup 2024 journey with a match against USA at Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas. The match is set to start at 8:30 pm (PST).

Pakistan is keen to assert their dominance early. However, they face a setback with the injury of all-rounder Imad Wasim, who is valuable both with the bat and ball. 

Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam are expected to open the innings, with Saim Ayub likely to miss out and Usman Khan batting at number three. The squad boasts mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed as well as spin all-rounders like Iftikhar Ahmed and Shadab Khan. The pace attack features star pacers including Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, and Shaheen Afridi.  This match will see Pakistan aiming to make a strong start after a lackluster series against England.

The USA, on the other hand, impressed with their batting in their opening match, successfully chasing a massive target of 195 in just 18 overs despite early setbacks. Aaron Jones and Andries Gous were standout performers, scoring 94 and 65 runs respectively. With experienced players like Corey Anderson, Steven Taylor, and Monank Patel in their lineup, the USA's batting order looks formidable.

However, their bowlers were expensive in the first game. Harmeet Singh was a bright spot, conceding just 27 runs in four overs and taking a wicket. Ali Khan and Saurabh Netravalkar will need to improve with the new ball. The USA benefits from having several all-rounders, adding depth to both their batting and bowling.

With conditions expected to be similar to their first game, both teams are prepared for an exciting clash. Pakistan aims to kick off their campaign with a strong performance, while the USA looks to build on their impressive start and continue their winning momentum.

Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan

United States: Monank Patel (c), Aaron Jones, Andries Gous, Corey Anderson, Ali Khan, Harmeet Singh, Jessy Singh, Milind Kumar, Nisarg Patel, Nitish Kumar, Noshtush Kenjige, Saurabh Nethralvakar, Shadley Van Schalkwyk, Steven Taylor, Shayan Jahangir. Reserve Players: Gajanand Singh, Juanoy Drysdale, Yasir Mohammad.