PCB announces schedule for 2020-21 domestic season

The National T20 Cup will be the curtain-raiser of the season

PCB announces schedule for 2020-21 domestic season PHOTO: File

The National T20 Cup will be the curtain-raiser of the season, with matches being held in Multan and Rawalpindi from 30 September to 18 October, while the National U19 One-Day Tournament will be played in Lahore, Muridke and Sheikhupura from 13 October to 2 November.

The National T20 Cup and the National U19 One-Day Tournament have been scheduled at the start of the season to enable all the top performers to have the opportunity to attract interest from the franchises prior to the HBL PSL 2020 draft in November.

The Pakistan Cup One-Day Tournament will be played from 8-31 January, after which the domestic season will conclude with the PCB’s marquee event, the HBL Pakistan Super League 2021, starting in February.

Four-day first-class matches will start from 25 October and the event will conclude with the five-day final starting on 1 January. Second XI three-day matches will be played from 18 October to 13 December.

ALSO READBabar Azam sparks outrage by sporting alcohol logo on his Somerset kit

Due to Covid-19 precautions, travel for players and officials will be restricted for all Quaid-e-Azam Trophy matches during the 2020-2021 season, resulting in all matches being played at grounds in Karachi. In addition, staging the tournament in Karachi will help mitigate the risk of bad weather conditions, such as fog and dew, seriously intervening in matches at that time of year.

The schedule of events will be further populated after the confirmation of Boys U13 & U16 and women’s events, HBL PSL 2021 and home international series against Zimbabwe and South Africa.

PCB 2020-21 domestic schedule at a glance:

National T20 Cup 1st XI (33 matches) – 30 September to 18 October, Multan and Rawalpindi

National T20 Cup 2nd XI (15 matches) – 1-8 October, Lahore

National U19 One-Day Tournament (31 matches) – 13 October to 2 November, Lahore, Muridke and Sheikhupura

National U19 Three-Day Tournament (16 matches) – 5-29 November, Lahore, Muridke and Sheikhupura

HBL PSL 2020 (4 matches) – 14, 15 and 17 November, Lahore

Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 1st XI (31 matches) – 25 October to 5 January 2021, Karachi

Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2nd XI (30 matches) – 18 October to 13 December, Karachi

Pakistan Cup 1st XI (33 matches) – 8-31 January 2021, Karachi

Pakistan Cup 2nd XI (15 matches) – 16-24 December, Karachi