Three changes as Pakistan announce playing XI for third NZ T20I

Abbas Afridi will miss third T20I due to injury

Three changes as Pakistan announce playing XI for third NZ T20I PHOTO: AFP

Pakistan have made three changes in their line-up for the third T20I against New Zealand on Wednesday in Dunedin.

Mohammad Wasim Jr had stepped in for Abbas Afridi, who was sidelined due to a low-grade abdominal wall muscle strain causing discomfort.

Additionally, Mohammad Nawaz has been chosen to replace Usama Mir, who struggled with just one wicket in the initial two games and maintained an expensive economy rate of 11.25.

Furthermore, Aamer Jamal, despite showcasing a commendable performance in Test matches, has been omitted from the playing XI due to being the most expensive bowler for Pakistan in this series with an economy rate of 12.12. In his stead, the T20I specialist Zaman Khan has been included in the lineup.

Pakistan playing XI: Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi (c), Mohammad Wasim Jr, Zaman Khan, Haris Rauf


🚨 Pakistan's playing XI for the third T20I 🚨#NZvPAK | #BackTheBoysInGreen

— Pakistan Cricket (@TheRealPCB) January 16, 2024


In the second Twenty20 international, New Zealand secured a 21-run victory over Pakistan, leading the series 2-0.

Full squad: Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain and wicket-keeper) Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan (wicket-keeper), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wicket-keeper), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan

Remaining matches:

3rd T20 – 17 January 2024 at University Oval, Dunedin

4th T20 – 19 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch

5th T20 – 21 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch