Three Pakistan players picked in The Hundred draft

Pacer Mohammad Amir was the first of the Pakistan trio to be selected

Three Pakistan players picked in The Hundred draft PHOTO: AFP

Three Pakistan players were snapped up in The Hundred draft, on Sunday, for next year's tournament.

Pacer Mohammad Amir was the first of the Pakistan trio to be selected with London Spirit bagging his services. Meanwhile leg-spinner Shadab Khan was picked by Southern Brave and young pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi was roped in by Birmingham Phoenix.  

It must be noted that 35 players were part of the initial list of players included in the draft. The players who went unsold include Pakistan T20I captain Babar Azam, former all-rounder Shahid Afridi, pacers Wahab Riaz and Usman Shinwari and all-rounders Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Faheem Ashraf and Imad Wasim. 

Afghanistan star Rashid Khan became the first player selected in The Hundred draft, but West Indies legend Chris Gayle wasn't selected.

Rashid has enjoyed a superb start to his international career, with 81 wickets at 12.03 in Twenty20 making him ideal for the new eight-team UK-based competition featuring 100 balls per innings.

The 21-year-old spinner was made the first overall pick by the Trent Rockets on Sunday.

West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell went next to the Southern Brave, with Australia batsman Aaron Finch third to the Leeds-based Northern Superchargers as the first-round picks came thick and fast.

Gayle was not among them and, with players not eligible to be selected if they failed to make their allotted price point, the 37-year-old will be absent from the competition.

Sri Lanka fast bowler Lasith Malinga and South African paceman Kagiso Rabada were also unpicked.

The majority of England's one-day international players had already been allocated to teams before the draft.

Each team had two picks in the first round, except the Phoenix, Spirit and Oval Invincibles who had allocated the second spots in the £125,000 price band to "local icon" players.

The Welsh Fire selected Australia duo Mitchell Starc and Steve Smith, with the Invincibles adding West Indies spinner Sunil Narine to the pre-selected Jason Roy.

The Manchester Originals pair South Africa spinner Imran Tahir with Dane Vilas, already a successful T20 Blast overseas player for Lancashire.

All-rounders Glenn Maxwell (London Spirit) and Liam Livingstone (Birmingham Phoenix) completed the first selections, accompanying 'icon' picks Eoin Morgan and Moeen Ali respectively.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson was the highest-profile name taken in round two, heading to Birmingham.