Top New Zealand cricketers set to skip Pakistan series for IPL

In the second part of their tour, New Zealand will be playing five T20Is and as many ODIs as Pakistan.

Top New Zealand cricketers set to skip Pakistan series for IPL PHOTO: FILE

Kiwis are set to visit Pakistan for the second time to play five T20Is and as many ODIs in Lahore, Rawalpindi, and Karachi. The tour will take place from April 14 to May 7, 2023.

The sad twist of the story is that the tour will most probably clash with the Indian Premier League, which will commence on March 31 in Ahmedabad.

ALSO READ: Pakistan players join IPL franchise

Kane Williamson (Gujarat Titans), Tim Southee (Kolkata Knight Riders), Devon Conway, and Mitchell Santner (both Chennai Super Kings) have been released from the tour and permitted to participate in the IPL as per their wishes.

Finn Allen (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Lockie Ferguson (KKR), and Glenn Phillips (Sunrisers Hyderabad) will also be joining their respective squads after getting done with the ongoing series against Sri Lanka. Kylie Jamieson and Trent Boult will also likely miss the tour ahead of IPL'16.

By the look of it, the prime New Zealand squad will miss the tour and participate in the cash-rich Indian Premier League. It might be saddening for the fans since they only witnessed the full-strength Kiwi squad in the Test series earlier this year.