Wasim reveals reason behind Imad, Azam's inclusion in Pakistan squad

Chief Selector believes rookie batsman still has more work to do on his fitness

Wasim reveals reason behind Imad, Azam's inclusion in Pakistan squad PHOTO COURTESY: PCB/AFP

Chief Selector Mohammad Wasim has revealed the reason behind selecting all-rounder Imad Wasim and rookie batsman Azam Khan in Pakistan’s T20 International (T20I) squad for England and West Indies tour.

While addressing the post-selection press conference, Wasim said that Imad’s impressive record in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) worked in all-rounder’s favour.

“Imad Wasim has been recalled considering the T20 World Cup is likely to be held in the UAE as he enjoys an excellent record there,” Wasim said.

While the chief selector admitted that Azam Khan still has more work to do on his fitness, it was hard for him to ignore the hard-hitting batsman’s potential, which can help solve Pakistan’s power hitting problem down the order.

ALSO READWasim announces Pakistan squad for England, West Indies tour

“Azam Khan has worked hard and improved his fitness. Indeed there's international standard of fitness but sometimes team requirement is also necessary. Sharjeel Khan was also added as per team’s requirement. Azam and Sharjeel are needed in T20 squad,” he said.

The side will play three ODIs and as many T20Is in England from 8-20 July, before taking on world champions West Indies in five T20Is that will be followed by two Tests.

Pakistan T20I squad:

Babar Azam (captain) (Central Punjab), Shadab Khan (vice-captain) (Northern), Arshad Iqbal (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Azam Khan (Sindh), Faheem Ashraf (Central Punjab), Fakhar Zaman (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Haider Ali (Northern), Haris Rauf (Northern), Hasan Ali (Central Punjab), Imad Wasim (Northern), Mohammad Hafeez (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Hasnain (Sindh), Mohammad Nawaz (Northern), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper) (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper) (Sindh), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Sharjeel Khan (Sindh) and Usman Qadir (Central Punjab).