ZTBL crowned champions after Nain blitz

Batsman made 85 off 65 balls to steer side to title

ZTBL crowned champions after Nain blitz

An unbeaten knock by Nain Abidi helped ZTBL clinch the title of the Departmental T20 Women’s Cricket Championship as they defeated PCB XI in the final by 46 runs at the National Stadium of Karachi on Thursday.

Electing to bat first, ZTBL posted a tough total of 179 runs for the loss of three wickets in their allotted 20 overs as player of the match Nain struck 85 runs off 65 balls hitting 13 fours, while Bismah Maroof made 64 off 39 balls hitting eight fours.

For PCB XI, Ramin Shamim took one wicket.

Chasing 180, PCB XI were restricted to 133-9 in their allotted 20 overs as Sana Mir, Almas Akram and Diana Baig took two wickets each for 24, 25 and 35 runs respectively.

For PCB XI, Maria Iqbal (33) and Sana Taj (20) were the top scorers.

The winners — ZTBL — were awarded Rs100,000 while the runners-up were awarded with Rs75,000.

Meanwhile, Nain and player of the tournament Javeria Rauf of PCB XI with her 220 runs and three half centuries were awarded Rs15,000 runs each.