Abbas, Hasan win Test, ODI cricketer of the year awards

Ceremony of 2018 PCB awards held in Karachi on Wednesday

Abbas, Hasan win Test, ODI cricketer of the year awards PHOTO COURTESY: PCB/TWITTER

Right-arm pacer Mohammad Abbas bagged the Test Cricketer of the Year accolade in the 2018 Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)’s award ceremony, which was held in Karachi on Wednesday.

The right-armer had a phenomenal year in the five-day format where he claimed 27 wickets in just five matches for the Green Caps at an outstanding average of 16.85.

His best performance came in an historic Test against Ireland, where he claimed figures of nine for 110 including a five-for in the second innings.

Fast-bowler Hasan Ali bagged the ODI Cricketer of the Year award after claiming 26 wickets in 12 matches at an astonishing average of 18 and economy-rate of just 4.76. His best show came in the match against Sri Lanka in Abu Dhabi, where he claimed figures of five for 34.

Young right-handed batsman Babar Azam was named T20I Cricketer of the Year for scoring 489 runs in 12 innings at an average of 54.33. His best performance came against West Indies, where he ended up scoring 97 not out off 58 balls with the help of 13 fours and one six.

Islamabad United’s Faheem Ashraf was named Emerging Player of the Year for his consistent performances in all three formats.

Ashraf, who made his debut for Pakistan during the 2017 Champions Trophy, has so far represented the Men in Green in three Tests, 12 ODIs and 17 T20Is, where he has claimed 38 wickets and scored 270 runs.

Left-handed opener Fakhar Zaman was presented the Special Award for Outstanding Performance for his heroics in the last 12 months.

Zaman also made his debut for Pakistan in the Champions Trophy last year and recently became the fastest to reach 1000 runs in the ODI format.

The Lahore Qalandars’ opener also became the first Pakistan batsman to score a double-century in the 50-over format.

In other developments on the night, captain Sarfraz Ahmed walked away with the Imtiaz Ahmed Spirit of Cricket accolade, whereas Sana Mir, Javeria Khan and Diana Baig bagged Women’s ODI, T20I and Emerging Player of the Year awards.