Arif Yaqoob claims ten-wicket haul on first-class debut

Arif Yaqoob registered the figures of 10-177 in his maiden first-class appearance

Arif Yaqoob claims ten-wicket haul on first-class debut PHOTO: AFP

On the third day of second round of the President’s Trophy Grade-I, Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) and Sui Northern Gas Pipelines (SNGPL) won their games as they beat Ghani Glass and Pakistan Television (PTV) respectively. KRL’s one-wicket victory over Ghani Glass became the highlight of this round. The game between Higher Education Commission (HEC) and Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) will go into day four after a hard fought day three. SNGPL’s Arif Yaqoob had a memorable day as he raced to his maiden first-class ten wicket haul in a match winning performance against PTV.

HEC vs WAPDA at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) require 106 runs to win with six wickets in hand as they closed day three with 114-4 on the board, while in pursuit of 220. WAPDA had an unexpected start to their chase as both opening batters, Mohammad Saleem and Hassan Abid Kiyani, were dismissed for one run each with scorecard reading 2-2. Umar Akmal (61 not out, 138b, 6x4s) played a crafty knock while keeping one end secure. Higher Education Commission (HEC) managed two more wickets from the other end as experienced duo of Iftikhar Ahmed (20, 63b) and Mohammad Saad (15, 47b, 3x4s) departed for low scores. Ayaz Tasawar (8 not out, 16b, 1x4) will be on the crease to start the proceedings on day four with Umar as WAPDA will look to chase the target.

Earlier, HEC managed to add 172 runs in their overnight total of 111-2, on day three, getting bundled out for 283.

Batting at number seven, wicketkeeper batter, Ghazi Ghouri (110, 118b, 17x4s) struck a brilliant century to help his team post a respectable target. He was aided by Mohammad Mohsin Khan (60, 87b, 9x4s) who managed to score a halfcentury. WAPDA’s skipper Iftikhar led from front and picked up three wickets. Irfanullah Shah also returned with three scalps while Naqeeb Masood and Asif Afridi bagged two each.

KRL vs Ghani Glass at State Bank Stadium, Karachi

Khan Research laboratories (KRL) sealed a memorable victory against Ghani Glass as they won by just one wicket while chasing 123 in the dying moments of the day three. KRL’s pursuit of 123 had faltered at the start when they were reduced to 67-6. Their last four batters, Kashif Ali (30 not out, 40b, 2x4s, 1x6), Shayan Sheikh (9, 11b, 1x4), Sirajuddin (5, 14b) and Arshadullah (8 not out, 25b, 1x4) faced a combined total of 100 balls and added 52 vital runs to the total.

Kashif Ali top scored for KRL while batting at number eight. He spent crucial time in the middle making sure his team ekes out the win while wickets fell on the other end at regular intervals. Ghulam Mudassar and Niaz Khan’s four wicket-hauls went in vain as the Ghani Glass bowling attack failed to pick up the last wicket.

Earlier in the day, Ghani Glass started their second innings with a lead of 43 but they were soon bundled out for a paltry 79 in 26.2 overs. Kashif Ali and Sirajuddin picked up four wickets each while Arshadullah played the supporting role with two wickets.

KRL will face HEC on 28 December at UBL Sports Complex while Ghani Glass will lock horns with Pakistan Television on the same date in next round of the President’s Trophy.

PTV vs SNGPL at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

Sui Northern Gas Pipelines (SNGPL) beat Pakistan Television (PTV) by eight wickets, to register their first win of the tournament.

PTV started their second innings from the overnight score of 66-0. Both opening batters, Hasan Nawaz (69, 92b, 9x4s) and Nasir Nawaz (62, 100b, 9x4s, 1x6), struck fluent half-centuries taking the opening partnership to 130.

Leg-spinner, Arif Yaqoob, who registered the figures of 10-177 in his maiden first-class appearance, enforced PTV’s collapse when he got Nasir out. Soon, he dismissed skipper Uzair Mumtaz and Daniyal Hussain Rajput for ducks. Hasan Mohsin (21, 29b, 4x4s) and Taimur Khan (7, 25b, 1x4) resisted for a while, before the team was dismissed for 189.

Arif bagged six wickets. Mohammad Ali returned with two scalps while Bilawal Bhatti and Mohammad Awais Anwar picked up one wicket each.

SNGPL chased PTV’s target of 85 in 21 overs with eight wickets in hand. Sahibzada Farhan (51, 61b, 4x4s, 4x6s) struck a fine half century to direct the chase. SNGPL will now face State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) on 28 December at SBP Stadium.

Scores in brief:

HEC vs WAPDA at National Bank Stadium

HEC 327-7, 80 overs (Awais Zafar 178 not out, Mohammad Mohsin Khan 43, Jahanzaib Sultan 20; Iftikhar Ahmed 3-88, Irfanullah Shah 2-67, Naqeeb Masood 1-61, Asif Afridi 1-83) and 283 all out, 67 overs (Ghazi Ghouri 110, Mohammad Mohsin Khan 60, Awais Zafar 57; Irfanullah Shah 3-39, Iftikhar Ahmed 3-40, Naqeebullah Masood 2-56, Asif Afridi 2-83)

WAPDA 391-4, 80 overs (Iftikhar Ahmed 123, Mohammad Saad 102 not out, Umar Akmal 87; Aqib Liaqat 2-124, Mohammad Azab 1-56) and 114-4, 46 overs (Umar Akmal 61 not out, Iftikhar Ahmed 20, Mohammad Saad 15; Mohammad Junaid 3-44, Mohammad Azab 1-13)

KRL beat Ghani Glass by one wicket at State Bank Stadium

Ghani Glass 363-7, 80 overs (Saeed Malik 105 not out, Shahbaz Javed 74, Saad Naseem 58; Kashif Ali 3-61, Arshadullah 2-117, Sirajuddin 1-35, Shayan Sheikh 1-93) and 79 all out, 26.2 overs (Kashif Ali 19, Shahbaz Javed 17; Sirajuddin 4-7, Kashif Ali 4-33, Arshadullah 2-37)

KRL 320-8, 80 overs (Maaz Sadaqat 84 not out, Ali Zaryab 65, Sarmad Bhatti 54; Niaz Khan 4-107, Saeed Malik 2-41, Hussain Talat 1-41, Bilawal Iqbal 1-63) and 123-9, 35.2 overs (Kashif Ali 30 not out, Abdul Faseeh 15, Rohail Nazir 13; Ghulam Mudassar 4-32, Niaz Khan 4-61, Bilawal Iqbal 1-24)

SNGPL beat PTV by eight wickets at UBL Sports Complex

PTV 317 all out, 79.2 overs (Uzair Mumtaz 108, Hasan Mohsin 59, Ahmed Safi Abdullah 46; Arif Yaqoob 4-97, Mohammad Awais Anwar 3-47, Bilawal Bhatti 1-31, Mohammad Ali 1-50, Mubasir Khan 1-73) and 189 all out, 49.1 overs (Hasan Nawaz 69, Nasir Nawaz 62, Mohammad Suleman 21, Jahandad Khan 21; Arif Yaqoob 6-80, Mohammad Ali 2-43, Bilawal Bhatti 1-25, Mohammad Awais Anwar 1-33)

SNGPL 424-7, 80 overs (Abid Ali 121, Omair Bin Yousuf 120, Haseebullah 76; Adil Naz 3-83, Ahmed Safi Abdullah 1-86, Jahandad Khan 1-90) and 85-2, 21 overs (Sahibzada Farhan 51, Abid Ali 18, Asad Shafiq 9 not out; Faisal Akram 1-19, Ahmed Safi Abdullah 1-34)