Babar Azam overtakes Rohit Sharma's record in T20I cricket

Babar Azam is nearing the top spot and is on track to surpass Virat Kohli

Babar Azam overtakes Rohit Sharma's record in T20I cricket PHOTO: AFP

Pakistan captain Babar Azam has leaped ahead of Indian captain Rohit Sharma in the realm of T20 International (T20I) cricket runs. 

This milestone was achieved during the intense clash between Pakistan and England in the second T20I at Birmingham.

The right-hand batter who scored 32 runs in this match propelled him past Rohit Sharma in the race for the most runs in the shorter format of the game. 

This remarkable feat secured Babar Azam's position as the second-highest run-scorer in T20I history, trailing only behind India's Virat Kohli.

Most runs in T20Is:

  • Virat Kohli - 4037 runs (109 innings)
  • Babar Azam - 3987* runs (111 innings)
  • Rohit Sharma - 3974 runs (143 innings)

Pakistan faced a tough loss in the second T20I against England. Batting first, England set a challenging target of 183 runs after losing seven wickets in their innings. In reply, the Men in Green struggled to maintain the momentum, eventually being bundled out for 160 runs in 19.2 overs, resulting in a 23-run defeat.