Basit Ali picks his Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Former Pakistan cricketer excluded Mohammad Amir from his squad

Basit Ali picks his Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup 2024 PHOTO: FILE

Former cricketer Basit Ali has named his Pakistan squad for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup, sharing his picks in a video on his YouTube channel.

The squad features a mix of seasoned and emerging players, with an emphasis on strengthening Pakistan's bowling and all-round capabilities.

Leading the squad is captain Babar Azam, who will guide the team with his exceptional batting power and leadership. Mohammad Rizwan, a reliable wicketkeeper-batsman, is expected to be a key contributor at the top of the order.

Basit's squad includes young talents such as Saim Ayub and Irfan Niazi, who have shown promise in recent matches. Fakhar Zaman brings experience and power to the batting lineup.

In the middle order, he suggested picking Azam Khan or Usman Khan to provide explosive hitting options. Shadab Khan, a crucial all-rounder, adds depth to the squad with his leg-spin bowling and late-order hitting.

Imad Wasim, Usama Mir, and Abrar Ahmed strengthen the spin department, offering variety and control in the middle overs. The pace attack features Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, and either Abbas Afridi or Aamer Jamal, providing a balanced mix of swing and pace options.

Interestingly, Basit did not include pacer Mohammad Amir in his 15-member squad. Amir recently returned from retirement and played in the T20I series against New Zealand, taking three wickets in three innings. Basit acknowledged Amir's experience but opted not to include him in the squad, suggesting the selection committee could consider Amir if Haris Rauf is unfit.

“Amir has a lot of experience but I haven’t kept him in my squad. If Haris Rauf is unfit, then the selection committee could opt for Amir,” Basit said.

Basit Ali’s Pakistan T20 World Cup squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan/Usman Khan, Irfan Niazi, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Abbas Afridi/Aamer Jamal, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Usama Mir and Abrar Ahmed.