AB de Villiers named captain of HBL PSL 2019 team of the season

Former South Africa captain displayed his talent and prowess in seven matches

AB de Villiers named captain of HBL PSL 2019 team of the season PHOTO: PCB

AB de Villiers of Lahore Qalandars has been named as captain of HBL PSL 2019 team of the season.

The lineup was selected by an independent panel comprising former Pakistan cricketers Mudassar Nazar and Ramiz Raja, along with former New Zealand pacer Danny Morrison.

De Villiers displayed his talent and prowess in seven matches, in which he aggregated 218 runs at a stunning average of 54.5 with an incredible strike-rate of 129.

As per the event regulations the team includes four foreign players and comprises the best performers of the HBL PSL 2019, keeping in mind a winning combination that was capable of defeating any franchise side in any given conditions.

Mudassar Nazar, who led the selection panel, said: “It has been a gigantic task to select a team comprising 12 players from a world-class event that produced a high number of quality individual performances.”

Apart from de Villiers, the lineup includes four players from Peshawar Zalmi (Kamran Akmal, Kieron Pollard, Hasan Ali and Wahab Riaz), three players from Karachi Kings (Babar Azam, Colin Ingram and Umer Khan), two players from Islamabad United (Asif Ali and Faheem Ashraf) and a player from Quetta Gladiators (Shane Watson).

De Villiers’ Qalandars’ teammate Sandeep Lamichhane has been chosen as the 12th player.

Team of HBL PSL 2019 in batting order:

1-    Shane Watson* (Quetta Gladiators) {430 runs, average. 43, strike-rate 143.8}

2-    Kamran Akmal (wicket-keeper) (Peshawar Zalmi) {357 runs, average 27.4, strike-rate 137.8, 9 dismissals}

3-    Babar Azam (Karachi Kings) {335 runs, average 30.34, strike-rate 115.5}

4-    AB de Villiers* (captain) (Lahore Qalandars) {218 runs, 54.5 average, strike-rate 129}

5-    Colin Ingram* (Karachi Kings) {344 runs, 34.40 average, 164.5 strike-rate}

6-    Asif Ali (Islamabad United) {281 runs, average 35.12, 182.46 strike-rate}

7-    Kieron Pollard* (Peshawar Zalmi) {284 runs, average 28.4, strike-rate 173; 5 wickets, average 45.8, economy 7.89}

8-    Faheem Ashraf (Islamabad United) {21 wickets, average. 15.33, economy 7.29}

9-    Wahab Riaz (Peshawar Zalmi) {17 wickets, 19.88 average, economy 6.78}

10-    Hasan Ali (Peshawar Zalmi) {25 wickets, 13.64 average, economy 6.77}

11-    Umer Khan (Karachi Kings) {15 wickets, 16.13 average, economy 7.11}

12-    Sandeep Lamichhane* (Lahore Qalandars) {11 wickets, 17.18 average, economy 7.66}