Gayle lights up Empire State Building as T20 World Cup trophy tour begins

Chris Gayle pulled the lever to illuminate the structure

Gayle lights up Empire State Building as T20 World Cup trophy tour begins PHOTO: ICC

As the countdown to the eagerly anticipated 'Out of this World' T20 World Cup in New York commences, the Empire State Building came to life in a spectacular display of illumination.

Two-time champion Chris Gayle and USA bowler Ali Khan launched the Trophy Tour for the upcoming tournament. Scheduled to begin on June 1, 2024, the ninth Men's T20 World Cup will unfold across the USA and West Indies.

The official inauguration of the Trophy Tour took place amidst the towering presence of the Empire State Building, which bathed in navy and pink lights, representing the official colors of the tournament.

Chris Gayle, with a symbolic gesture, initiated the illumination of the structure.

Marking a significant milestone, this event marks the first ICC tournament hosted in the United States, spanning three venues: the newly constructed 34,000-seater Nassau County International Stadium in New York, the refurbished Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Dallas, and the Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill.

New York will be the epicenter, hosting eight matches, while Dallas and Lauderhill will each host four games.

Additionally, co-hosts West Indies will stage matches across iconic venues in Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.

The Trophy Tour, spanning 15 countries, will showcase legendary cricketers and iconic venues, inviting fans to partake in the 'Out of this World' cricket festival. The tour will also include visits to emerging cricket nations in the Americas.

The first month of the Trophy Tour will include stops in New York, Houston, Grand Prairie, Dallas, Buenos Aires, Sao Paulo, Jamaica, Barbados, Antigua and Barbuda, and Saint Lucia.

The Trophy Tour Schedule for the first month is available below:

18 - 20 March: New York

21 - 23 March: Houston, Grand Prairie and Dallas

26 - 27 March: Buenos Aires

28 - 29 March: Sao Paulo

3 - 4 April: Jamaica

13 - 14 April: Barbados

17 - 18 April: Antigua and Barbuda

19 - 20 April: Saint Lucia