ICC reveals on-field umpires for India, Pakistan T20 World Cup clash

The eagerly-awaited Group A clash of T20 World Cup between India and Pakistan will take place on June 9

ICC reveals on-field umpires for India, Pakistan T20 World Cup clash PHOTO: AFP

Richard Illingworth and Rodney Tucker will serve as the on-field umpires for the highly anticipated Group A match between India and Pakistan in the T20 World Cup on June 9.

Illingworth is also set to officiate the tournament's opening game between the USA and Canada.

He will be accompanied by Shahid Saikat, who will make history as the first Bangladeshi umpire to officiate at an ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

 Saikat, 47, has previously overseen five matches at last year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup and has officiated in two ICC Women’s Cricket World Cups and the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2018.

Richie Richardson will act as the match referee in Dallas, with Sam Nogajski serving as the TV umpire and Langton Rusere positioned as the fourth umpire. Nogajski is one of five umpires making their debut in a senior men’s tournament in June, with Rashid Riaz making his first appearance in the second match of the tournament between Papua New Guinea and West Indies in Guyana. This match will also mark a significant milestone for match referee Andy Pycroft, who will officiate his 150th T20 International.

Jayaraman Madanagopal’s debut will take place later that day in the match between Namibia and Oman in Barbados. Allahudien Paleker will start his series of four on-field group games with the match between the USA and Pakistan. Fellow debutant Asif Yaqoob will officiate alongside Nitin Menon in the game between England and Scotland.

Among the experienced officials returning for this World Cup are Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney, Richard Kettleborough, and Joel Wilson. Appointments for the knockout stages will be announced at a later date.

Match Officials for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:

Umpires: Chris Brown, Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Allahudien Paleker, Richard Kettleborough, Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon, Sam Nogajski, Ahsan Raza, Rashid Riaz, Paul Reiffel, Langton Rusere, Shahid Saikat, Rodney Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson and Asif Yaqoob.

Match referees: David Boon, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andrew Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath.