India announce squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian team, Rinku Singh and Shubman Gill in reserves

India announce squad for T20 World Cup 2024 PHOTO: AFP

India on Tuesday announced their 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 scheduled for June, to be held across the United States and West Indies.

Rohit Sharma will lead the team with Hardik Pandya as his deputy. KL Rahul was left out while Yuzvendra Chahal returned to the squad.

Yashasvi Jaiswal was included as an opening option, and Shivam Dube earned his spot due to his strong performance in the ongoing 2024 IPL.

Arshdeep Singh joined the pace department alongside Mohammed Siraj and Jasprit Bumrah. Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson will handle wicket-keeping duties, while Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja will contribute as all-rounders.

Shubman Gill and Rinku Singh were omitted from the main squad but placed on the reserve list.

Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan were also named as reserves, available for selection in case of injuries or strategic changes.

India is in Group A alongside Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and hosts USA. They kick off their campaign against Ireland on June 5 at the newly-built Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York, followed by a highly anticipated match against Pakistan on June 9 at the same venue. Subsequently, they will face USA and Canada on June 12 and 15, respectively.

India's T20 World Cup 2024 squad:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya (vice-Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan