Pakistan women cricketers sustain injuries in tragic car accident

Three ODIs and five T20Is will be played at the National Bank Stadium, Karachi

Pakistan women cricketers sustain injuries in tragic car accident PHOTO: AFP

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has issued an official update regarding two of its women cricketers, Bismah Maroof and Ghulam Fatima, who were involved in a minor car accident on Friday evening. Despite the unfortunate incident, both players are reported to be in stable condition.

According to the PCB statement, immediate first aid was administered to Maroof and Fatima following the accident. They are currently under the care of the PCB medical team, who are closely monitoring their recovery process. The board assured that necessary medical attention and support are being provided to ensure their well-being.

Both Bismah Maroof and Ghulam Fatima are important members of the Pakistan women's cricket team and are currently part of the probables attending a training camp. The camp is in preparation for the upcoming series against the West Indies, scheduled to commence on 18th April. Their participation in the series will depend on their recovery and fitness levels, which will be assessed by the medical team.

As per the latest update from the PCB, both women cricketers have undergone a CT scan, yielding clear results. The cricket board has confirmed that their heads were scanned promptly, with the reports showing no issues.

Pakistan is preparing to host the final leg of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 matches on home turf, welcoming West Indies to Karachi on April 14 for a series of eight white-ball matches. 

The schedule includes three ODIs at the National Bank Stadium (NBS) in Karachi on April 18, 21, and 23, followed by five T20Is at the same venue scheduled for April 26, 28, 30, May 2, and 3. The ODIs are set to begin at 3:30 pm PKT, with the T20Is starting at 7:30 pm PKT.

Series schedule:

  • 14 Apr – West Indies women’s team arrival in Karachi
  • 18 Apr – First ODI at National Bank Stadium (NBS), Karachi (330pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship) 
  • 21 Apr – Second ODI at NBS (330pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship) 
  • 23 Apr – Third ODI at NBS (330pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship) 
  • 26 Apr – First T20I at NBS (730pm local time)
  • 28 Apr – Second T20I at NBS (730pm local time)
  • 30 Apr – Third T20I at NBS (730pm local time)
  • 2 May – Fourth T20I at NBS (730pm local time)
  • 3 May – Fifth T20I at NBS (730pm local time)