Pakistan’s likely batting-order for New Zealand series revealed

A new opening pair was seen batting against the new ball in the practice nets on Tuesday

Pakistan’s likely batting-order for New Zealand series revealed PHOTO: PCB

Pakistan's probable batting line-up for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand has been revealed.

The most notable change we can see in the lineup is the introduction of a new opening pair, with Mohammad Rizwan and Saim Ayub set to open the innings. Previously, this job was done by Rizwan and Babar Azam.

During the practice session, the Pakistan bowlers, including skipper Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, and Zaman Khan, bowled against Rizwan and Saim, who were at the receiving end while facing the new ball.

Former skipper Babar Azam was seen honing his batting skills against spinners during the training camp. Joining him in this spin-centric training was Fakhar Zaman, who is expected to play a crucial role in the middle order this time.

The likely batting order is set to feature Rizwan and Saim as the opening pair, with Babar following at one-down. Fakhar is expected to take the fourth position.

Azam Khan will occupy the fifth spot in the batting order while Iftikhar Ahmed is expected to provide firepower at the sixth position. However, positions of Iftikhar and Azam can be switched as per the situation.

📍 Eden Park, Auckland 🏟️

T20I mode activated: Getting game-ready 🏏#NZvPAK

— Pakistan Cricket (@TheRealPCB) January 9, 2024

Full squad: Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain and wicket-keeper) Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan (wicket-keeper), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wicket-keeper), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz,  Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan

Full schedule:
1st T20 – 12 January 2024 at Eden Park, Auckland
2nd T20 – 14 January 2024 at Seddon Park, Hamilton
3rd T20 – 17 January 2024 at University Oval, Dunedin
4th T20 – 19 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch
5th T20 – 21 January 2024 at Hagley Oval, Christchurch