Pakistan’s likely squad for T20I series against New Zealand

Pakistan selectors will announce the squad on Tuesday morning through a press conference

Pakistan’s likely squad for T20I series against New Zealand PHOTO: AFP

Mohsin Naqvi, the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), announced that the selectors will reveal the squad for Pakistan's upcoming home T20I series against New Zealand through a press conference on Tuesday morning. 

“The selection committee has told me that they will announce the Pakistan squad [for New Zealand series) on the morning of the 9th April through a press conference,” Naqvi told reporters on Sunday.

The selectors are anticipated to opt for an 18-member squad for the series, with a focus on providing ample opportunities to players to gain match experience before the T20 World Cup. 

Left-arm pacer Mohammad Amir and all-rounder Imad Wasim, both recently returned from international retirement, are slated to receive ample playing time to attain the match fitness requisite for international cricket.

Haris Rauf is still recuperating from injuries sustained during the ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL), while Fakhar Zaman's selection remains uncertain as he battles to regain fitness after suffering an injury in the recent PSL season.

Usman Khan is likely to be included in the squad and is expected to bat at number four spot in the playing XI against the Kiwis.

“Usman Khan is definitely under consideration for the squad,” Naqvi said.

Babar Azam, Usman Khan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Shaheen Afridi and Naseem Shah are certain to be part of the squad.

Furthermore, Agha Salman, Sahibzada Farhan, Irfan Khan Niazi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Zaman Khan, and Abbas Afridi are also under consideration for inclusion in the 18-member contingent. Either Abrar Ahmed or Usama Mir will be selected in the squad for the series.

The New Zealand team is set to arrive in Pakistan on April 14th for the five-match T20 series commencing on April 18th, with three matches scheduled in Pindi and the remaining two in Lahore.

New Zealand squad: Michael Bracewell (c), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert (WK), Ish Sodhi