Shadab Khan reveals team set to pose threat for Islamabad United in PSL 9

Pakistan Super League 9 is scheduled to take place across four venues from 17 February to 18 March

Shadab Khan reveals team set to pose threat for Islamabad United in PSL 9 PHOTO: AFP

Islamabad United's captain, Shadab Khan, has singled out Quetta Gladiators as the team to watch out for in the upcoming ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). 

In an exclusive interview with Cricket Pakistan ahead of the tournament's commencement on February 17th, Shadab has shared his insights on the competition and potential contenders.

"On paper, I feel that the Quetta Gladiators have the best team. All teams seem good on paper, but personally, I think they [Quetta Gladiators] have a better balanced side. However, I don't know how each team will perform in the tournament, but on paper, they seem to be a good team." Shadab said.

It is worth noting that Quetta Gladiators have undergone a leadership change, with South African cricketer Rilee Rossouw stepping in as the new captain for the upcoming PSL season 9.

Alongside Rossouw, Saud Shakeel has been named as the vice-captain of the team, indicating a new era of leadership for the franchise.

Sarfaraz Ahmed, known for his impressive PSL track record, having secured victory in 38 out of 80 matches and claiming the title in 2019, now passes the baton to Rossouw.

Quetta Gladiators' PSL 9 squad

Rilee Rossouw (C), Mohammad Wasim, Jason Roy, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Amir, Will Smeed, Saud Shakeel (VC), Sajjad Ali, Usman Qadir, Adil Naz, Khawaja Nafay, Akeal Hosein, Sohail Khan, Omair Yousuf, Sherfane Rutherford, Bismillah Khan (partial replacement for Wanindu Hasaranga), Sufiyan Muqeem

Islamabad United’s squad for PSL 9:

Shadab Khan (C), Naseem Shah, Imad Wasim, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Rumman Raees, Tymal Mills, Matthew Forde, Salman Agha, Qasim Akram, Shahab Khan, Hunain Shah, Ubaid Shah, Shamyl Hussain, Tom Curran*, Jordan Cox, Haider Ali, Obed McCoy
*Tom Curran is injured and won’t be part of the season