Sharjeel hits century, Daniyal takes five-fer in Pakistan Cup

Sharjeel Khan’s century ensured that Multan get over the line with ease against Faisalabad in Pakistan Cup

Sharjeel hits century, Daniyal takes five-fer in Pakistan Cup PHOTO: PCB

Pakistan Cup 2023-24 commenced today at four venues across three cities – Rawalpindi, AJK and Abbottabad – in the country. The first round saw Lahore Whites beat Lahore Blues by 67 runs and Peshawar impose a seven-wicket defeat over Karachi Whites. Faisalabad lost to Multan by four wickets and Rawalpindi defeated FATA by 16 runs.

Lahore Whites v Lahore Blues at Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi:

Lahore Blues captain Imran Butt decided to bowl first against Lahore Whites at Pindi Cricket Stadium. Lahore Whites struggled to get going with the bat initially, losing four wickets within the first ten overs. Tayyab Tahir (42, 72b, 5x4s, 1x6) and Kamran Afzal (45 not out, 52b, 4x4s, 1x6) recuperated the innings, taking their team to a fighting total of 199 for eight in 45 overs.

Pacers Umaid Asif and Salman Irshad, and leg-spinner Usman Qadir returned two wickets apiece.

In turn, Lahore Blues were bundled over for just 132 in 27 overs. Ahmed Daniyal was the star performer of the innings, registering a five wicket-haul on List A debut to derail the opposition’s chase. He was supported by Ahmed Bashir who got three wickets. Hashim Ibraheem (36, 39b, 5x4s) was the highest scorer for the Imran-led side.

Peshawar v Karachi Whites at Mirpur Cricket Stadium, AJK:

Sahibzada Farhan decided to bowl first after Peshawar won the toss against the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24 champions, Karachi Whites, at Mirpur Cricket Stadium. Danish Aziz (53, 81b, 1x4, 2x6s) carried the innings for his team and helped get 205 on the board before they were dismissed in 43.4 overs. Captain Shan Masood was the second-best batter, hitting 42 from 66, including four boundaries.

Peshawar’s pacers were threatening with the ball throughout the innings; Mohammad Ilyas registered a four-wicket haul, Mohammad Imran picked up three wickets and Abbas Afridi returned two scalps.

In turn, Peshawar scored 207 for three in 44.3 overs, winning by seven wickets and three balls to spare. Half-centuries by Zain Khan (56, 79b, 3x4s, 2x6s), Adil Amin (57 not out, 74b, 4x4s, 1x6) and Nabi Gul (50 not out, 54b, 5x4s, 1x6) allowed the team to complete the target with ease.

Danish accounted for all three wickets lost by Peshawar in their pursuit.

Faisalabad v Multan at Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi:

After winning the toss, Multan opted to field first against Faisalabad at the Shoaib Akhtar Cricket Stadium. Faheem Ashraf starred with a captain’s innings after coming into bat when his side had lost five for 97. He scored an unbeaten 60 from 78, including two boundaries and two maximums. Mohammad Saleem (53, 63b, 5x4s) was the other contributor with the bat as Faisalabad got to 214 for eight in the 42-overs-a-side match that had a delayed start due to wet outfield.

Sirajuddin grabbed three wickets while Faisal Akram and Zahid Mehmood got two each.

In turn, Sharjeel Khan’s century ensured that Multan get over the line with ease. Aamer Yamin (39 not out, 40b, 4x4s, 1x6) was the second-best batter for his team as they got to 219 in 39.2 overs, winning by four wickets and 16 balls to spare. Faisalabad’s Khurram Shahzad took three wickets.

FATA v Rawalpindi at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium, Abbottabad:

Rawalpindi were asked to bat first after the toss went FATA’s way at the Abbottabad Cricket Stadium. Rawalpindi were bowled out for 170 in 42.4 overs. Taimur Khan (27, 41b, 2x4s, 1x6) and Nasir Nawaz (26, 42b, 3x4s, 1x6) were the highest scorers for the Umar Amin-led side.

All of FATA’s bowlers picked up wickets with Sameen Gul and Azaz Khan grabbing two wickets each.

Fighting efforts by Mohammad Farooq (47, 72b, 4x4s, 2x6) and captain Khushdil Shah (38, 54b, 3x4s, 1x6) went in vain as FATA were dismissed for 154 in 41.2 overs, falling short by 16 runs. Rawalpindi’s Kashif Ali and Jahandad Khan got three wickets each and Bilawal Bhatti grabbed two wickets.

Scores in brief:

Lahore Whites beat Lahore Blues by 67 runs

Lahore Whites 199-8, 45 overs (Kamran Afzal 45 not out, Tayyab Tahir 42; Salman Irshad 2-33, Usman Qadir 2-36, Umaid Asif 2-45)

Lahore Blues 132 all out, 27 overs (Hashim Ibraheem 36, Junaid Ali 26; Ahmed Daniyal 5-33, Ahmed Bashir 3-29)

Peshawar beat Karachi Whites by seven wickets

Karachi Whites 205 all out, 43.4 overs (Danish Aziz 53, Shan Masood 42; Mohammad Ilyas 4-53, Mohammad Imran 3-41, Abbas Afridi 2-29)

Peshawar 207-3, 44.3 overs (Adil Amin 57 not out, Zain Khan 56, Nabi Gul 50 not out; Danish Aziz 3-42)

Multan beat Faisalabad by four wickets

Faisalabad 214-8, 42 overs (Faheem Ashraf 60 not out, Mohammad Saleem 53; Sirajuddin 3-39, Faisal Akram 2-27, Zahid Mehmood 2-36)

Multan 219-6, 39.2 overs (Sharjeel Khan 100, Aamer Yamin 39 not out; Khurram Shahzad 3-53)

Rawalpindi beat FATA by 16 runs

Rawalpindi 170 all out, 42.4 overs (Taimur Khan 27, Nasir Nawaz 26, Umar Amin 23; Sameen Gul 2-17, Azaz Khan 2-28)

FATA 154 all out, 41.2 overs (Mohammad Farooq 47, Khushdil Shah 38; Kashif Ali 3-33, Jahandad Khan 3-39, Bilawal Bhatti 2-27)