Third Test: Controversy surrounds Fawad Alam’s dismissal in first innings

The ball which led to batsman’s dismissal could have been a no-ball

Third Test: Controversy surrounds Fawad Alam’s dismissal in first innings PHOTO: Reuters

Pakistan middle-order batsman Fawad Alam might consider himself unlucky as the ball which led to his dismissal in the first innings, of the ongoing third Test against England, was potentially a no-ball.

Alam, who scored 21 runs off 74 balls, was caught by wicketkeeper Jos Buttler off the bowling of Dom Bess in the 37th over of the innings.

Later, one of the replays showed that Buttler’s gloves seemingly passed the stumps during the course of the delivery — which according to the laws of cricket is a no-ball.

ALSO READ: Former fast-bowler might replace Misbah as Pakistan chief selector: report

It must be noted that law 27.3 states that: “The wicket-keeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler touches the bat or person of the striker or passes the wicket at the striker’s end. In the event of the wicketkeeper contravening this Law, the striker’s end umpire shall call and signal no-ball as soon as applicable after the delivery of the ball.”


Looked like Buttlers’ hands were in front of the stumps for that catch. Which is a no ball. You’d have to see it again, but it looked very close.

— Jarrod Kimber (@ajarrodkimber) August 23, 2020


Looking at those replays, Buttler was mighty close to being no-balled for encroachment under Law 27.3. #ENGvPAK

— Liam Cromar (@LiamCromar) August 23, 2020


England, who hold a 1-0 lead, are edging towards their first Test series win over Pakistan since 2010.

The hosts won the opening match in Manchester by three wickets, and the rain-hit second game ended in a draw.