WATCH: Unbelievable catch leaves umpires confused, fans outraged

The decision from third umpire also sparked outrage among fans on social media

WATCH: Unbelievable catch leaves umpires confused, fans outraged PHOTO: BBL

Brisbane Heat's duo of Matt Renshaw and Tom Banton combined to complete an unbelievable catch of Hobart Hurricanes skipper Matthew Wade on Thursday, which left the umpires puzzled.

During the 15th over of the Hurricanes' innings, Wade skied a delivery from all-rounder Ben Cutting towards the long-on boundary, where Matt Renshaw was stationed and attempted the catch. Renshaw had to immediately throw the ball in the air before his running momentum took him beyond the boundary line. However, the ball followed Renshaw over the rope, which forced him to jump, while still being outside field of play, and drag the ball inside to Banton who completed the catch.

ALSO READPSL5 tickets to go on sale from January 20

The catch caused confusion among the umpires as the third umpire first declared that Wade was not out, before reversing his decision and sending the Hurricanes captain back to the pavilion.


This is genuinely blowing our mind. After all that, Matthew Wade is GONE!

What a @KFCAustralia Bucket Moment | #BBL09

— KFC Big Bash League (@BBL) January 9, 2020


Renshaw, while taking to Fox Sports after the match, explained what was going through his mind while attempting the catch.

“I was just worried about where the rope was and trying it in,” said Renshaw. “They always say play to the whistle in warm-up games. I just tried to play the whistle and keep the ball up and made sure I was in the air. But there was a bit of luck I reckon.”

The decision from third umpire also sparked outrage among fans on social media.


How is that out? Pls explain!!!! #BBL09

— Charles Cameron (@Charles__23) January 9, 2020

There is no way Wade is out. That can’t be out. The catcher knocked it back in whilst he was out of the field of play! #BBL09

— Anthony Chisholm (@AnthonyChisholm) January 9, 2020

When a 3rd umpire doesn’t know the rule... and needs the players to explain them... #ohdear #BBL09

— Brenton Speed (@BrentonSpeed) January 9, 2020

So you’re telling me you can catch a ball in the 3rd tier whilst jumping, and throw it back to a team mate and it’s still out ? Common sense has to prevail with that rule surely 🤯 #BBL09

— Adam Oxley (@oxy_4) January 9, 2020

Exactly my point but he’d have to catch it first then over balance and throw it in the air... then run to the top of the stands and then jump in the air so he’s not touching the ground and parry it back to his mate who is on the field 🤔🤭🤗🤷

— James Taylor (@jamestaylor20) January 9, 2020