West Indies announce squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Among the selected, Shamar Joseph stands out as a significant inclusion

West Indies announce squad for T20 World Cup 2024 PHOTO: AFP

In anticipation of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which the Caribbean nations and the USA are set to co-host, the West Indies cricket board has announced a 15-member squad full of familiar faces and promising newcomers.

Among the selected, Shamar Joseph stands out as a significant inclusion. Fresh from an impressive Test debut series against Australia, Joseph is set to make his T20I debut in the upcoming World Cup.

Veteran batsman Shimron Hetmyer returns to the fold after sitting out the T20I series against Australia. Hetmyer's current form in the Indian Premier League (IPL) with the Rajasthan Royals — where he has scored 83 runs across four innings at an explosive strike rate of 184.44.

Conversely, Kyle Mayers and fast bowler Oshane Thomas have been omitted from the squad. The selection committee has favored a robust lower order, opting for firepower in the middle and late stages of the innings over additional opening options.

The squad's core is built around proven talent and dynamic all-rounders. Openers Johnson Charles, Brandon King, and Shai Hope are tasked with setting strong platforms, while the middle order boasts hard hitters such as Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, and the returning Hetmyer. The all-rounder contingent, featuring Jason Holder, Rovman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford, and Romario Shepherd, provides both depth and flexibility to the lineup.

Spinners Akeal Hosein and Gudakesh Motie will lead the slow bowling attack, with fast bowling responsibilities primarily shouldered by vice-captain Alzarri Joseph, supported by an array of pace options.

The two-time champions are slotted into Group C and will commence their quest for a third title on June 2 against Papua New Guinea in Guyana. The group also includes formidable teams such as Afghanistan, New Zealand, and newcomers Uganda, promising a challenging yet exciting path ahead for the Windies. 

West Indies Squad: Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd.