HBL PSL 8 Draft: Hasaranga, Shakib among preliminary list of foreign players

England's top-ranked T20I batter Dawid Malan and New Zealand's Martin Guptill are also part of a 214-man preliminary list of foreign players

HBL PSL 8 Draft: Hasaranga, Shakib among preliminary list of foreign players PHOTO: AFP

A plethora of international players will be part of the HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 Draft.

The eighth edition of HBL PSL 8 is slated to be held from February 9 to March 19 next year across four venues: Karachi, Lahore, Rawalpindi and Multan.

ALSO READ: HBL PSL 8 dates and venues confirmed

Second-ranked T20I bowler Wanindu Hasaranga and top-ranked all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan have shown interest in the draft, expected on November 18.

England's top-ranked T20I batter Dawid Malan and South Africa's David Miller are also part of a 214-man preliminary list of foreign players.

According to the details, the registration of foreign cricketers for PSL 8 draft is going on. Players from Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Australia, Afghanistan, Ireland, Scotland, UAE, Nepal, various countries of West Indies, Maldives, Canada, USA, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea, Namibia, Uganda and others have shown interest.

There will be changes and the addition of more players to this list. So far, there are eight cricketers in the platinum category.

Foreign Players

Some of the foreign players who have registered for the draft are mentioned below

Platinum Category:

Wanindu Hasaranga, Dasun Shanaka from Sri Lanka, David Miller (South Africa), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), David Malan and Reece Topley (England), Martin Guptill (New Zealand) and Odean Smith (West Indies).

Diamond Category:

England: Jason Roy, Daniel Worrall, Laurie Evans, Paul Walter, Adam Hose, Craig Overton, Jamie Overton, Lewis Gregory, Will Jacks, Ollie Pope, James Fowler, Rehan Ahmed

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan, Mahmudullah Riaz

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews, Oshada Fernando, Charith Asalanka, Kaushal Perera, Patham Nissanka, Kusal Mendis 

West Indies: Fabian Allen, Brandon King, Johnson Charles

Afghanistan: Gulbadin Naib, Najibullah Zadran 

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza

Ireland: Josh Little

South Africa: Cameron Delport

76 cricketers have registered themselves in the Gold category. Bangladesh's Litton Das and Ebadot Hossain are among them.

From Sri Lanka, Asila Gunaratne , Ramesh Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dhananjaya De Silva, Lahiru Kumara have registered.

Zimbabwe's Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Hamilton Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura and Afghanistan's Mohammad Shahzad will be up for grabs in the category.

Meanwhile, 99 cricketers are part of the Silver Category. America's Jaskaran Malhotra, who gained fame by hitting six sixes in six balls in the One Day International match against Papua New Guinea last year, is also among them.