Pakistan to play 14 Tests in 2023-25 WTC cycle

The Men in Green will begin their campaign in WTC with a two-match Test series against Sri Lanka in July

Pakistan to play 14 Tests in 2023-25 WTC cycle PHOTO: AFP

Pakistan is set to play a total of 14 Tests in the upcoming ICC World Test Championship (WTC) cycle. The WTC cycle, which spans from 2023 to 2025, aims to bring context and competitiveness to Test cricket by providing a championship format for teams to battle it out for the title of World Test Champions.

Pakistan's 14-match schedule includes a mix of home and away series against various opponents. They will embark on two away series this year, beginning with a two-match series against Sri Lanka. This will be followed by a challenging three-match series against Australia on Australian soil.

ALSO READ: Proposed schedule of Pakistan’s Test tour of Sri Lanka revealed

Back on home turf, Pakistan will host two series. The first will be against the West Indies, where they will engage in a two-match contest. This will be followed by another two-match series against Bangladesh.

The highlight of Pakistan's WTC cycle will be a three-match home series against England. England is known for their traditional Test cricket prowess, and this series will provide Pakistan with a chance to test their mettle against a quality side. The home advantage will be crucial for Pakistan as they aim to secure valuable points in their quest for a spot in the WTC Final.

Finally, Pakistan will conclude their WTC campaign with a two-match away series against South Africa. Playing against the Proteas in their own backyard will present Pakistan with a stern challenge, as South Africa has historically been a formidable opponent at home.

The third edition of the ICC World Test Championship cycle begins with a clash between a resurgent England side and reigning champions Australia, and will end with a final at Lord's in 2025.

Australia might still be revelling in their triumph over India in the ICC World Test Championship Final 2023 but will have to quickly shift their focus to the next WTC cycle that starts with a clash against arch-rivals England on 16 June.

The five-Test Ashes series will kickstart the World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle that is set to include 68 matches scheduled across 27 series and the third WTC Final to be played at Lord's in 2025.

The nine teams set to participate in the WTC 2023-25 cycle are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Each WTC series in the cycle will include two to five Tests, with the nine competing teams each playing six series - three at home, and three away.

The nine teams do not necessarily play the same number of matches in the WTC cycle, with the standings determined by the percentage of all possible points earned.

England will feature in the greatest number of Test matches during the WTC cycle with 21, while Australia (19) and India (19) will also line up in regular five-day fixtures.

Each Test included in the World Test Championship has 12 points available for a win, with four awarded to each team for a draw, and six to each team for a tie. No points are earned from a loss, and teams can lose points for slow over rates.

Pakistan (14 matches):
-    Away series against Sri Lanka (2 matches)
-    Away series against Australia (3 matches)
-    Home series against West Indies (2 matches)
-    Home series against Bangladesh (2 matches)
-    Home series against England (3 matches)
-    Away series against South Africa (2 match)